Photo Food Journal

In connection with my new outlook on food, I am trying to eat healthier and exercise more. Instead of getting a fast food salad I decided to go to the local grocery store and pick up ingredients to make my own salad at work. While I was making my lunch I had an epiphany, I could take pictures of my food with my iPhone and use it as a food journal. (A simple Google search later confirmed that many others without my prior knowledge had the same epiphany, so don’t think I am trying to claim some novel concept for myself.)

I have read countless articles about the need to keep a food journal and I have even tried to do so in the past with lackluster results. I had been searching the iTunes store for an app that I could use for a food journal but never found one I really liked. I almost always have my iPhone with me and it just takes a second to snap a photo, so I think this will be a good way to document my meals.

Here is lunch; a chicken, strawberry and walnut salad with Italian dressing, baby carrots and a red delicious apple:

7 Responses to “Photo Food Journal”


  1. 1 justfortuitous March 1, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Good luck with your healthy eating! I’m taking photos of my food too…it helps me keep track of what I’m eating and helps me see patterns that I don’t normally notice about my habits. =)

    • 2 fatdaddyesq March 2, 2010 at 11:09 am

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’m glad to see the idea has some merit and has worked for others already. Good luck with your efforts as well.

  2. 3 Hot Momma March 2, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I’m liking the idea. Mind if I steal it for myself as well? But, at some point do we weed out the old pictures or just keep building a huge library of food pictures on the iphone?

    • 4 fatdaddyesq March 2, 2010 at 11:01 am

      I plan to download the pictures to a folder on my computer rather than keeping them stored on the phone. I am naming the pictures by date and meal.

      • 5 Hot Momma March 3, 2010 at 10:55 am

        I probably will have to have you do that for me since every time I plug the phone into my computer I lose everything and set it back to factory settings thereby causing much confusion and frustration to myself.

        Save me, my techno hero.


  1. 1 Progress Report « Fat Daddy, Esq. Trackback on March 31, 2010 at 10:35 am
  2. 2 I Want to Be Fat « Fat Daddy, Esq. Trackback on September 27, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Leave a Reply

